Join our whatsapp channel for News Updates

Kuwait joins UN Security Council on Monday

04:14 PM | 31 Dec, 2017
Kuwait joins UN Security Council on Monday
KUWAIT CITY - Kuwait is set to commence its non-permanent membership at the UN Security Council (UNSC) on January 1 amidst many regional and global challenges.

Kuwait's Deputy Premier and Minister of Foreign Affairs Shaikh Sabah Khaled Al-Hamad Al-Sabah, in earlier statements, said that Kuwait will continue being neutral in resolving different issues, according to Kuwait News Agency (KUNA).

The Gulf state will also chair the council in February.

Kuwait won its place at the council after a vote. It now replaces Egypt as the only Arab member at the council.

Kuwait will be joined by the Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, Peru and Poland, succeeding Japan, Egypt, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay after their two-year temporary membership expired.

The Security Council is made up of 10 non-permanent members elected to two-year terms and five permanent powers: Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

The elected countries - all of which were put forward by their regional grouping - will begin their term on January 1.

Kuwait first joined the UN in 1963 and was granted membership at the Security Council in 1978 and 1979.

Daily Pakistan Global Web Desk


Pakistani rupee rate against US Dollar, Euro, Pound, Riyal - Check 14 April forex rates

Pakistani currency remains unchanged against US dollar and other currencies in open market on April 14, 2024.

US Dollar rate in Pakistan

On Sunday, the US dollar was being quoted at 277.5 for buying and 280.5 for selling.

Euro was quoted at 299.95 for buying and 302.9 for selling while British Pound stands at 349.5 for buying, and 353 for selling.

UAE Dirham AED was at 75.45 and Saudi Riyal's new rates was at 73.30. 

Today’s currency exchange rates in Pakistan - 14 April 2024

Source: Forex Association of Pakistan. (last update 08:00 AM)
Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar USD 277.5 280.5
Euro EUR 299.95 302.9
UK Pound Sterling GBP 349.5 353
U.A.E Dirham AED 75.45
Saudi Riyal SAR 73.3 74.05
Australian Dollar AUD 182.7 184.5
Bahrain Dinar BHD 739.38 747.38
Canadian Dollar CAD 204 206.2
China Yuan CNY 38.45 38.85
Danish Krone DKK 40.45 40.85
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 35.57 35.92
Indian Rupee INR 3.33 3.44
Japanese Yen JPY 1.86
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 903.91 912.91
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 58.92 59.52
New Zealand Dollar NZD 167.63 169.63
Norwegians Krone NOK 25.38 25.68
Omani Riyal OMR 722.1 730.1
Qatari Riyal QAR 76.35 77.05
Singapore Dollar SGD 206 208
Swedish Korona SEK 25.72 26.02
Swiss Franc CHF 307.11 309.61
Thai Bhat THB 7.61 7.76


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter