Bangladeshi ODI captain Mashrafe Mortaza wins parliamentary elections

12:10 PM | 31 Dec, 2018
Bangladeshi ODI captain Mashrafe Mortaza wins parliamentary elections
DHAKA - Bangladesh's ODI captain Mashrafe Mortaza has become a member of parliament after winning the general elections held on Sunday.

Mortaza contested from the ticket of Awami League, the ruling party which won the elections by winning 288 out of 300 seats in Bangladesh.

Right-arm pacer won by a landslide from the Narail-2 constituency with 274,418 votes, as per the unofficial counting, making up over 96 percent of the share, the Dhaka Tribune reported.

The 35-year old is the second national cricket team captain after Naimur Rahman Durjoy to become an MP, and the first active player to achieve the honour.

Mortaza plays only ODI cricket now. A string of injuries limited his Test career and he could only play 36 Tests, with his last appearance in the longest format of the game coming way back in 2009.

He announced his retirement from the shortest format of the game in 2017. He came up with the announcement during the toss ceremony of the first T20I of the series against Sri Lanka and played his last T20I on April 6 – the second and the last T20I of the series.

Bangladesh did not have a great tour of South Africa but they qualified for the final of home tri-series earlier this year.

In July, the Tigers defeated West Indies at their home in a three-match ODI series 2-1. In Asia Cup 2018, Bangladesh played the final against the eventual winners India before whitewashing Zimbabwe in a three-match series.

Recently, Bangladesh also defeated West Indies 2-1 in a three-match home series under Mortaza.