Pakistan vs West Indies, 2nd T20I: Pakistan win by 3 runs

12:45 AM | 31 Mar, 2017
Pakistan vs West Indies, 2nd T20I: Pakistan win by 3 runs

PORT OF SPAIN: Pakistan beat West Indies in the second T20 international by three runs after defending 132 on Thursday.

Sent into batting first, Pakistan lost regular wickets but managed to get to 132. West Indies were cruising at one stage before Shadab Khan had Marlon Samules caught behind.

Shadab picked up four wickets for 14 runs. West Indies could not make the most of the good start and were 129 for nine wickets at the end.

For Green Shirts, Kamran Akmal went without troubling the scorers in the first over while Babar Azam perished after scoring 27.

Shoaib Malik resisted against the Windies bowlers but got out after scoring 28 runs.

At one point Pakistan had lost eight wickets for 95 runs but a late-order surge led by Wahab Riaz took the green shirts to a reasonable total.

Riaz finished with scoring 24 runs off 10 balls with two sixes and one four.

He was supported by young Shadab Khan who scored 13.

For West Indies, Sunil Narine and Carlos Brathwaite picked up three wickets each, Samuel Badree got two while Kesrick Williams chipped in with one wicket.

 Pakistan lead the 4-match series 1-0. The visitors beat the hosts by six wickets in the series opener.

The match started at 12:30 PM (local) 4:30 PM (GMT) and 9:30 PM on (Pakistan Standard Time).

TV Listings: PTV Sports, Ten Sports

Pakistan is going to hand a debut to another Pakistan Super League star in Fakhar Zaman, the left-hand batsman, in its effort to keep up the winning run.


West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Samuel Badree, Jonathan Carter, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton (wk), Keswick Williams.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt, wk), Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir, Rumman Raees, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan.