MULTAN – Embattled Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) suffered another setback as its seven candidates from south Punjab on Saturday returned party tickets, announcing to contest the elections as independent candidates.

Former provincial deputy speaker Sher Ali Gorachnai (NA-193 and PP-293), Pervez Gorchani (PP-295), Ather Gorchani (PP-294) and Yousuf Khan Dareshak (PP-296) have returned the tickets. Besides,  Yousuf Khan’s brother, Dr Hafeez Dareshak, has also announced to take part in elections as an independent candidate from NA-194.

The estranged leaders of the PML-N have now been allocated the ‘jeep’ symbol to contest the general elections set to be held on July 25.

Former PML-N MPA Atif Mazari and his nephew Khizar Mazari will continue to contest on the PML-N ticket from PP-297 and NA-195, respectively, Dawn News reported.

Another PML-N leader from NA-181, Sultan Mehmood Hanjra, has also announced to contest elections as an independent candidate. He is facing former Punjab governor Ghulam Mustufa Khar, who has Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) ticket.

Hanjra’s nephews — Ahmed Yar (PP-279) and Qasim (PP-268) — will, however, continue to contest as PML-N candidates.