ECP announces date for the much-anticipated Senate Elections

  • Upper House elections will be held on March 3 for 52 vacated seats
  • PPP's 18 and PML-M's 9 senators will be retiring this year

ISLAMABAD – The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday announced the schedule for the elections of Upper House of the Parliament which were seen impossible by political parties, including the ruling PML-N.

Some elements trying to disrupt Senate elections, says Ahsan Iqbal

As per the schedule, the candidates can submit nomination papers from February 4-6 and the security will be done by Feb 9. The Senate elections will be held on March 3 for the 52 vacated seats.

PML-N leaders including National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq, Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal, and others have expressed fear over the holding of the Senate elections on time.

The fears got strength when the Motion of No-Confidence against Balochistan former chief minister Sanaullah Zehri succeeded and a new provincial chief executive was elected. There was a controversy that anti-democracy powers planted new CM Mir Abdul Qudus Bizenjor in order to dissolve the assembly.

Abdul Quddus Bizenjo becomes new Balochistan CM

However, Bizejno after taking oath as the chief minister made it clear that the assembly will complete its terms and not be dissolved.

Twelve senators – 7 on general seats, 2 technocrats seats, two women seats and two minorities seats – will be elected from Sinh and Punjab each, while four will be elected on general seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. Similarly, 11 senators will be elected from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan.

Two senator – one on a general seat and one technocrat – will be elected from Islamabad.

Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) 18 out of 26 senators are going to retire this year, while Senate Chairman Raza Rabbani, Opposition Leader Aitzaz Ahsan and Taj Haider are among the retiring lawmakers.

Similarly, nine out of 27 senators of PML-N, including former finance minister Ishaq Dar will be retiring this year, while five of six  Awami National Party senator’s tenure will end this yar.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan will lose four of its eight senators, including Nasreen Jalil and Dr Farogh Naseem.

Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed among the fhe four PML-Quaid senators retiring this year, while the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl will bid ffarewellto three of its 5 senators.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) will lose only one ssenatorout of seven, and the party hoped to bag more seats from KP