Elections 2018

ISLAMABAD – The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will announce the final list of candidates contesting the upcoming general election today.

The electoral body will also issue electoral symbols to the contesting candidates today, a day after it started preparing the final list of candidates after the deadline to submit party tickets and withdraw nomination papers ended.

The appellate tribunals across the country heard and decided the appeals of candidates against rejection and acceptance of nomination papers by June 27.

The elections regulator had established 21 appellate tribunals across the country for trial and disposal of appeals against the decisions of Returning Officers for rejecting or accepting of nomination papers pertaining to national and provincial assembly constituencies for general seats as well as seats reserved for non-Muslims in the National Assembly.

As many as six tribunals had been established in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, eight in Punjab, four in Sindh, two in Balochistan and one in Islamabad that cleared former premier Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, PTI chief Imran Khan, PTI spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry and many others.

ECP extends polling time for maximum turnout in election 2018

The process of filing of nomination papers with the Returning Officers by the candidates was started on June 4 and continued till June 11, while the names of the nominated candidates were published on June 11.

The last date for scrutiny of nomination papers was June 19, while the last date for filing of appeals against the decisions of the Returning Officers was June 22. The date of publication of revised list of candidates was June 28.

According to an official of the ECP, the date of polls will remain intact and the general election will be held on July 25, 2018 as notified earlier, in a free, fair and transparent manner, however, the polling time was extended till 6 P.M, instead of 5 P.M.

He said that the commission has issued final polling scheme for national and provincial assemblies’ constituencies for the conduct of general elections 2018 in all four provinces and federal capital.