ISLAMABAD –  Former Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice (retd) Nasirul Mulk was sworn in as Pakistan’s seventh caretaker prime minister at the President House, on Friday.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to the former top judge in a ceremony attended by former premier Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Chief of the Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani, former ministers and other civil-military top guns.

In an informal discussion with newsmen after assuming charge, the interim premier asserted that free, fair elections would be conducted in the country without any delay.

“I would rope in minimum numbers of ministers and would perform the duties assigned,” declared Nasirul Mulk.

Guard of honour given to Caretaker PM

Caretaker Prime Minister Justice (retd) Nasir-ul-Mulk was given guard of honour here at the PM House after oath-taking of his office at the President House. A contingent of guards presented a salute to the Caretaker Prime Minister and the national anthem was played on the occasion. Later, Justice (retd) Nasir ul Mulk reviewed the parade and interacted with the senior officials at the PM House

The National Assembly was dissolved at midnight Thursday after the Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz government completed its five-year term.

Moreover, all the provincial assemblies were also dissolved, paving way for the interim setup to take over the reins of the country for ensuring free and fair elections in the country.

This is the first time in Pakistan’s history that a second consecutive democratic government has completed its five-year tenure.

The name of Nasirul Mulk was agreed upon by former premier Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and former Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly, Syed Khursheed Shah on Monday.

Earlier, outgoing Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi held farewell meetings with the federal cabinet, his staff and officers on Thursday.

The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs on Thursday evening issued a notification announcing the dissolution of the 14th National Assembly at midnight on May 31, 2018.

The notification was issued in line with Article 52 of the Constitution, which states simply that: “The National Assembly shall, unless sooner dissolved, continue for a term of five years from the day of its first meeting and shall stand dissolved at the expiration of its term.”

Copies of the notification have been sent to the Prime Minister’s Office and the Aiwan-i-Sadr (Presidency), as well as all provinces, the Election Commission of Pakistan, the National Assembly and Senate.