ISLAMABAD (APP) – The nation observes today (Wednesday) first anniversary of brutal attack on Army Public School Peshawar with firm resolve to root out terrorism from every nook and corner of the country.

The day will be marked with functions all over the country including APS Peshawar to pay homage to martyred students and staff members of the school and highlight the need to fight out the terror to the end.

It was on this day last year that a group of terrorists attacked Army Public School. Over one hundred and fifty innocent people including one hundred and twenty-five students of the school were martyred.

The tragic incident galvanized the nation and resulted in major policy decision at national level in respect of war on terror and maintenance of law and order in the country.

National Action Plan against Terrorism was formulated and is under implementation, which has achieved remarkable successes.

In honour of the fallen souls, the Prime Minter has approved to rename 122 schools and colleges of the Islamabad Capital Territory after martyrs of Army Public School.

The government has also announced to rename 10 schools in Punjab while 5 in FATA in the memory of the martyred students.

Upon the direction of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, all the federal educational institutions will observe Martyrs of Army Public School Day today.

The students would be informed about the sacrifices of students and staff of Army Public School Peshawar.

Minister of State for Capital Administration and Development Tariq Fazal Chaudhry has been given direction in this regard.
The students would be told that terrorism is a negation of teachings of Islam and humanity.

Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan Governments have announced public holiday in all educational institutions today.

A ceremony will also be held in Ankara today to pay homage to the martyrs of Army Public School Peshawar.

Children from Pakistan Embassy School, Pakistani students studying in different Turkish universities, Pakistani and Turkish community and members of civil society will attend the ceremony.