LODHRAN (Staff Report) – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Jahangir Tareen has won the NA-154 by-polls with over 35,000 votes lead.

Jahangir Tareen bagged 139,573 votes in all 303 polling stations while PML-N candidate Siddiauq Baloch gor 99,312 votes who was followed by PPP candidate with 1,962 votes only. A 60% turnout was recorded in the by polls, according to a spokesman of ECP.

Related: Imran Khan to visit Lodhran after NA-154 by-polls victory

The seat fell vacant after Baloch had been disqualified by an election tribunal on Aug 26 on a petition filed by Tareen, who had accused the former of possessing a fake educational degree and committing massive irregularities during the 2013 general elections.

Earlier a day-long polling process was held in the constituency from 8:00am to 5:00pm without any formal interval.
Heavy contingents of armed forces were deployed to ensure free and fair polling and law and order situation.

The constituency holds about 419,182 registered voters; in which there are 228,870 male and 190,312 female voters. For which more than 425,000 ballot papers have been printed.

Total 303 polling stations were set up for polling; out of which 34 polling stations were dedicated for male and 44 for female with 235 general polling stations for both male and female voters.

Siddique Baloch of PML-N and Jahangir Tareen of PTI were among the 20 election contenders. Candidates of other four political parties and more than a dozen independent candidates were running for the by-polls.

Read: Imran Khan calls for action against electoral fraud


This is end of live updates…

10:30pm: Results from another 147 polling stations show Jahangir Tareen bagged 69223 more votes while Siddique Baloch got 49898 more votes.

07: 40pm: Results from another 14 polling stations show Jahangir Tareen bagged 10299 more votes while Siddique Baloch got 6931 more votes.

07:12pm: Results from another 10 polling stations show Jahangir Tareen bagged 3660 more votes while Siddique Baloch got 2789 more votes.

06:30pm: According to the results from 14 polling stations, PTI’s Jahangir Tareen has so far bagged 4432 votes, while his rival candidate PML-N’s Siddique Baloch is following Tareen with 3812 votes.

05: 30pm: According to the results from seven polling stations, PTI’s Jahangir Tareen is leading the polls with 1584 votes, while PML-N’s Siddique Baloch is following Tareen with 1130 votes.

04:30pm: A PTI supporter, wrapped in party flag, was allegedly set on fire by PML-N workers outside a PTI camp. The young man was shifted to a nearby hospital where he told the media that he was set ablaze by PML-N workers.

Strong protests followed the incident.

02:45pm: Tareen visits different polling stations

The PTI candidate Jahangir Tareen has visited different polling stations in NA-154 to inspct the polling process.

Embedded image permalink

02:13pm: Clash at polling station 12

Media reports said that party workers of PML-N and PTI have clashed at polling station 12. The polling process was briefly disturbed as a result.

01:33pm: More than 3,000 personnel of Pakistan army deployed in NA-154

Election Commission of Pakistan has said that more than 3,000 officials of Pakistan army have been deputed in NA-154 for today’s by-poll. Army personnel will remain present in the constituency till announcement of polling results.

12:45pm: PTI monitoring room reviewing polling process

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has established special monitoring room to review the polling process in NA-154 Lodhran.

12:25:pm: Polling resumes at polling station 5 after brief pause

The voting process has been resumed at polling station 5 after a brief pause following clash between workers of PML-N and PTI.

12:21pm: Clashes between PML-N, PTI workers at different polling stations

Media reports suggest clashes between party workers of PTI and PML-N at different polling stations.

12:11pm: PML-N candidate blames Tareen for buying votes

PML-N candidate Siddique Baloch has accused PTI contestant Jahangir Tareen for buying votes in NA-154 by-poll. He said that PTI had paid several people to vote for them.

11:36am: Polling stopped at women polling station

The polling process has been stopped at polling station 5 following a dispute.

11:12am: Polling stopped at a polling over fake election staff

The polling was stopped as polling station 134 where allegedly fake election staff was administering the process. The staff reportedly failed to provide legal authority letters when asked at which polling was stopped.

10:32am: Imran Khan urges voters to come out

PTI chairman Imran Khan has urged all voters of NA-154 to come out and vote for his party’s candidate to expose the rigging in 2013 general elections.

10:15am: PTI’s Tareen eyes at defeating PML-N despite ‘pre-poll rigging

The PTI candidate has said that PML-N has taken every step to rig the by-poll however the Junoon of his party will still defeat them. On the occasion he also blamed PML-N MNA Ghaffar Dogar for terrorising the voters of NA-154.

He also blasted at ECP for negligence in printing of ballot papers in which the commission gave electoral sign of “Batsman” to another candidate named Shahid Jahangir, but ECP printed him as Jahangir Khan on ballot papers.

10:07am: Jahangir Tareen casts vote

The PTI candidate Jahangir Tareen has cast vote in polling station 207. A large number of PTI supporters were present on the occasion who chanted slogans in his favour.

9:42am: Peaceful polling underway at all polling stations

According to Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) a peaceful polling process is underway at all polling stations in NA-154 Lodhranas no complaint has been received so far.

9:09am: PML-N hosts breakfast for voters outside polling station

The PML-N supporters have arranged breakfast for voters coming to cast their votes in polling station 207.

8:35am: PML-N candidate casts vote

PML-N candidate Siddique Baloch has cast his vote in Haveli Naseer Khan polling station.

8:00am: Polling process begins

The polling time at all 303 polling station of NA-154 has begun. Personnel of Pakistan army have been deputed inside and outside every polling station.