Maryam Nawaz obtains nomination papers for Lahore’s NA seat

  • Hamza Shehbaz will go to the polls from NA-124.

LAHORE – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has finalised the names of candidates for the constituencies of Lahore ahead of 2018 general elections, set to be held on July 25.

As per the details, Maryam Nawaz, daughter of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif, would contest elections from NA-125 Lahore (old NA-120), while his uncle former Punjab chief minister Shehbaz Sharif from NA-134 (old NA-129).

It is for the first time Maram is taking part in the elections; however, she ran the campaign for her mother, Kulsoom Nawaz, in the same constituency following the disqualification of her father in the Panamagate case.

Media reports said that Maryam has gotten electoral nomination papers which will be submitted after completing them.

Maryam is also facing corruption trial in the accountability court after the National Accountability Bureau filed references against members of Sharif family. She has been named as an accused in the Avenfield case.

Maryam Nawaz hints at contesting upcoming elections

Hamza Shehbaz will flex his muscles in NA-124 (119) and former Speaker National Assembly will go to the elections from NA-129 (old NA-125).

Malik Riaz will contest elections from NA-123 (old NA-118), Mian Marghoob NA-126 (old NA-121), Shaikh Roahil Asghar NA- 128 (old NA-124), Khawaja Ahmad Hassan NA-130 (old NA-126), Khawaja Saad Rafique NA-131 (new constituency), Zaeem Qadri NA-133 (old NA-127), Saiful Malook Khokhar NA-135 (NA-128) and Afzal Khokhar NA-136 (old NA128) on the tickets of PML-N.