PORT OF SPAIN – Pakistan brushed West Indies aside by 7 wickets in the final T-20 international of the four-match series, at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, on Sunday clinching the T20 series.

West Indies set a target of 125 runs against Pakistan after Green Shirts won the toss and elected to field first against Caribbeans.

Against an easy target, Pakistani batsmen displayed classy performance and secured the target with 7 wickets and an over in hand as Ahmed Shehzad scored 53 while Babar Azam made 38 runs from 36 deliveries.

West Indian Kesrick Williams got two wickets while Marlon Samuels sent Kamran Akmal back to the stands.

Batting first, West Indian opener Chadwick Walton scored 40 runs while Marlon Samuels bagged 22 whereas Carlos Brathwaite made 37 crucial runs. On the other hand, Pakistani bowling lineup contained West Indies at 124 and proved that fielding first was a better choice.

Hasan Ali took 2 wickets while Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Rumman Raees and Wahab Riaz sent one player each to the pavilion while mitigating the run rate. Hassan Ali was declared Man of the Match for his brilliant spell of 2 for 12. Shadab Khan was declared Man of the Series for his continuous brilliance throughout the series.

Today’s match was  a crucial one for both the sides as Caribbean Lions were planning to level the series but Pakistan staved off their plan and won another series over West Indies.

The Green Shirts have now secured 4th position in International Cricket Council’s T20I rankings. Currently, West Indies T20 team is at 4th position with 116 points and Pakistan was at 6th position with 113 points on ICC’s rankings table.
The match started at 12:30 PM (local) 4:30 PM (GMT) and 9:30 PM on (Pakistan Standard Time).

PCB executive committee chairman Najam Sethi took to Twitter after the match and congratulated the team.

TV Listings: PTV Sports, Ten Sports


West Indies (probable): Evin Lewis, Chadwick Walton (wk), Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Keiron Pollard, Rovman Powell/Jason Mohammad, Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Sunil Narine, Jason Holder, Samuel Badree, Kesrick Williams.

Pakistan (probable): Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal/Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt & wk), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz.