GUYANA – West Indies defeated Pakistan by four-wicket in the first match of three matches series here at the Providence Stadium on Friday.

Set 309 to win, West Indies reached the target with one over to spare in the first of a three-game series at the National Stadium in Guyana.

Jason´s runs included three sixes and 11 fours and he shared a key, unbeaten stand of 50 for the seventh wicket with Ashley Nurse (34 off 15 balls). Kieran Powell hit 61.

Pakistan had made 308-5 with 36-year-old Mohammad Hafeez top-scoring with 88 and Shoaib Malik (53) and Ahmed Shehzad also contributing half-centuries (67).

West Indies are seeking a clean sweep of the series to move ahead of Pakistan at number eight in the international rankings.

By the cut-off date of September 30 this year, the top eight teams, including hosts England, will automatically qualify for the 2019 World Cup.

The match started at 09:30 AM (local) 01:30 PM (GMT) and 06:30 PM on (Pakistan Standard Time).

TV Listings: PTV Sports, Ten Sports

The second and the third ODI matches will be played on Sunday and Tuesday at the same venue before the Test Series begins.

Pakistan have already won the four-match T20 series by beating West Indies by 3-1. After the ODI series, both the cricketing nations will play a three-match Test series starting from April 22. The second and the third Test match will start from April 30 and May 10 respectively.

Pakistan are currently No. 8 in the ICC’s ODI rankings, holding the final automatic qualification spot for the 2019 World Cup. West Indies are in the ninth position, with five ranking points separating the sides.

Failure to beat Pakistan would leave West Indies – who will be absent from this year’s Champions Trophy – struggling to catch them ahead of September’s cut-off and facing the prospect of having to come through the ICC Qualifier.

Pakistan ODI Squad

Ahmad Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Muhammad Hafeez, Baber Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Asif Zakir, Sarfraz Ahmad – Captain / WK, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hassan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Muhammad Amir, Fahim Ashraf, Junaid Khan, Muhammad Asghar.

West Indies ODI Squad

Jason Holder (capt), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton.