Independence Cup: Pakistan beat World XI by 20 runs

  • Three matches will be played at Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium on 12th, 13th and 15th September

LAHORE – Pakistan on Tuesday defeated World XI by 20 runs in the first T20 match of the Independence Cup and took the lead 1-0 of the three match series.

Chasing 198 runs, World XI managed to score 177 runs with the loss of seven wickets. Sohail Khan, Rumman Raees and Shadab Khan took two wickets each.

Babar Azam, who declared Man of the match, remained the top-scorer with a 52-ball 86 studded with 10 boundaries and two sixes, adding 122 for the second wicket with Ahmed Shehzad who made 39.

Sohail Khan, Rumman Raees and Shadab Khan claimed two wickets apiece.

Hashim Amla and Tamim Iqbal had steadily kicked off the innings against Pakistan. Both the batsmen challenged the home side’s bowling attack effectively before the entry of Raees.

Earlier, Faf du Plesis won the toss and elected to bowl first against Pakistan.

Speaking after the toss, skipper Sarfraz Ahmed said the team wanted to bat first and are looking forward to an exciting match.

He also remarked that there could be no better opportunity for the young players to show their talent.

“Our main focus is on cricket now,” said the team captain

Captain of World XI, Faf du Plesis, referred to the match, as a ‘historic moment’, adding that he is honoured to lead Word XI and playing the match will be a new experience for all the visiting side.

The match started at 7:00pm. The second match will be played on Wednesday at same venue.

Cricket enthusiasts wearing traditional dress and honking horns started rushing towards Punjab’s provincial capital from different parts of the country to catch a glimpse of international cricketers starting from noon.

Pakistan vs World XI: PCB names 12-member team for 1st T20

A strict security plan has been devised to safeguard the players for all the three matches to be played on September 12, 13 and 15.

Around 6,000 police officials including 19 police SPs and 45 DSPs will perform duties. At all entry points, the officials will check the national identity cards and tickets of the people and will allow them to enter after proper clearance. Besides the police, troops of other law enforcement agencies will also be deployed.

Match Schedule

All T20s would commence at 7:30pm onwards.

Where to Watch

Cricket lovers can watch all three matches of Independence Cup series on PTV Sports.


World XI

David Miller, Morne Morkel, Tim Paine, Thisara Perera, Imran Tahir, Darren Sammy, Hashim Amla, Grant Elliott, Samuel Badree, George Bailey, Tamim Iqbal, Paul Collingwood, Ben Cutting, Faf du Plessis (C).


Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf , Hasan Ali, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees, Usman Khan, Sohail Khan.