ISLAMABAD – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has announced a 23-member cabinet for Punjab. The decision to this effect was made after a meeting of PTI leaders chaired by Prime Minister Imran Khan in Islamabad on Sunday.

The ministers and their portfolios are as under:

Samiullah Chaudhary, Food;

Hafiz Mumtaz, Excise, Taxation and Narcotics;

Makhdoom Hashim Bakht, Finance Minister;

Fayyaz ul Hassan Chohan, Information and Culture;

Yasir Humayun Sarfraz, Higher Education and Tourism;

Mian Mehmood ur Rashid, Housing and Development;

Mian Aslam Iqbal, Industries, Commerce and Investment;

Aleem Khan, Local Government and Special Health Care;

Taimoor Khan, Youth Affairs; and

Niazi, Labor and Manpower.

Muhammad Sibtain, Asif Nikai, Amir Yasir, Malik Nouman Langria and Hussain Dareshak are also part of the provincial cabinet and they will be assigned their portfolios later.

Moreover, Muhammad Akram Chaudhary has been inducted in the cabinet as Advisor Political Affairs.

The new cabinet is expected to take oath on Tuesday next, however, the final date has not yet been announced.

Earlier, the Prime Minister Imran Khan interviewed lawmakers for the selection process of Punjab cabinet. A consultative meeting about the formation of Punjab cabinet was held at Banigala on Sunday with Prime Minister Imran Khan in the chair.

The meeting was attended by Punjab Chief Minister Sardar Usman Buzdar, Aleem Khan, Dr Yasmin Rashid, Mian Mahmood-ur-Rashid and others.