ISLAMABAD (Web Desk) – Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) leader Sheikh Ansar became first mayor of the federal capital on Monday.

Ansar bagged 49 votes while PTI candidate manged to secure only 26.The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) held election of a mayor and three deputy mayors in Metropolitan Corporation of Islamabad (MCI).

Elected chairpersons from 50 union councils of the federal capital along with 27 members from reserved seats were to elect the mayor and deputy mayors, Daily Times reported.

There was an electoral college of 77 members for this election. The aspirants candidates of different political parties had filed their nomination papers for the seats of a mayor and deputies.

PML-N’s Sheikh Ansar Aziz had filed nomination papers for the office of mayor of the federal capital along with his three deputy mayors Zeeshan Ali Naqvi, Chaudhry Rifhat Javed and Muhammad Azam.

PTI Raja Khuram Shehzad was contesting for the seat of mayor while Ali Nawaz Awan, Raja Zulqarnain Haider and Fozia Arshad for the seats of deputy mayors respectively.