LAHORE – The allocated time for polling of final round of local body elections in Punjab has finally ended and ruling PML-N seems to be in a comfortable position by securing a hold in major cities.

Ch. Naveed Ul Haq of PML-N became mayor of Multan by securing 71 votes whereas PML-N’s Shahid Hameed Chandia won the elections of mayorship in Dera Ghazi Khan according to unofficial results.

Sheikh Sarwat Ikram became mayor of Gujranwala. He secured 87 votes whereas for Bahawalpur, Aqeel Hashmi was elected mayor while Malik Munir is the deputy mayor. Sheikh Yaqub overpowered his competitors in polls for Qila Dedar Singh chairmanship by bagging 13 votes. Riaz Dar became chairman of Municipal Committee Ali Pur Chattha in Gujranwala. They all represented PML-N.

PML-N‘s Imran Shahid Butt elected Pattoki‘s Chairman Municipal Committee while candidate Chaudhry Zahid Nazir elected as Faisalabad‘s Chairman District Council.

In Sheikhupura, Usman Majeed was elected as Chairman Tehsil council Gujjer. Meanwhile, PML-N‘s candidate Rana Sikandar Hayat has been elected as Chairman District Council while independent candidate Rana Ateeq Anwar became Sheikhupura’s Chairman District Council.

Zahid Iqbal of PML-N bagged chairmanship in Sahiwal city. Rana Sana Ullah group in Faisalabad also overpowered its rivals.

PML-N’s Sheikh Shabbir was elected Muridke’s Chairman Municipal Committee whereas independent candidate Sadiq Khan became Chairman Allahabad‘s Municipal Committee.

Chairman and deputy chairman of Chinniot and Narowal were already elected unopposed.

Usman Rasheed Bobak as an independent candidate bagged chairmanship of Ahmed Pur Sharqia in Bahawalpur.For deputy Mayorship in Dera Ghazi Khan, PML-N’s Sheikh Asrar outshined his rivals while Hina Arshad Warraich of the same party was elected chairperson in Sialkot.

Bhakkar’s town, Munkira depicted a different trend where Pakistan Peoples Party candidate Malik Ansar Iqbal Chenna was elected chairman Municipal committee.

The situation looked different in Sargodha city as well where Tahir Rasheed of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf was elected as Chairman Municipal Committee Kot Momin.

34 district council chairmen and 54 municipal committee chairmen have also been elected unopposed.

All the results mentioned here are unofficial at this point in time.