ISLAMABAD (Staff Report) – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Wednesday decided to file an appeal in Supreme Court against election tribunal’s order of re-election in NA-125 and PP-155.

The decision was taken in an informal meeting of party’s key leaders under the chair of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, federal ministers Pervez Rasheed and Ahsan Iqbal informed the reporters, if PMLN doesn’t challenge the decision in the superior court it will set a wrong precedent.

Rasheed, on the occasion, claimed Khawaja Saad Rafique was keen to contest the by-polls instead of going for an appeal but the party’s legal advisers insisted that verdict is in itself contradictory. The results of recent elections in cantonment boards have authenticated that general election held in 2013 were purely fair and transparent, he added.

Minister for Planning and Development Ahsan Iqbal said the decision was taken after a thorough discussion with legal experts and that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf should not celebrate the tribunal’s order as Supreme Court is going revert the decision.

He went on to say that Imran used to see elections in 2014, now he expects the same in 2015 but I think he will further await the polls in 2016.

He blamed that Imran Khan was jealous of PMLN’s performance and improving economy of the country, he added, PTI chief has been conspiring against Pakistan.

Earlier an Election Tribunal ordered the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to conduct a re-election in NA-125 after reaching a decision on rigging in last general elections from the constituency on Monday.

The verdict was reserved by the tribunal on April 30 when the lawyers had formally completed the arguments in the case.

Federal Minister for Railways Khawaja Saad Rafique was declared winner from this constituency during 2013 general elections, while PTI’s candidate Hamid Khan had challenged the election result.

The tribunal had also ordered to hold re-election in PP-155, which falls under the same constituency.

National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) was ordered to verify the votes in seven polling stations out of the total 265 polling stations previously.

In 2013’s general elections PMLN candidate Khawaja Saad Rafiq had bagged 123094 votes who was followed by the PTI candidate PTI Hamid Khan with 83190 votes.

PMLN’s Mian Naseer Ahmad was elected from PP-155 where PTI’s Hafiz Farhat had challenged the result.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), which had blamed the winning party for manipulating the poll results immediately after the elections, has been time and again asking the government to verify the ballots in the four constituencies including NA-125.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan had led a long march to Islamabad in August 2014 to demand an inquiry into the allegations of rigging which was followed by a 126 days long sit-in of his followers.

In April this year the ruling party, PMLN and PTI, agreed to constitute a judicial commission to investigate the allegations of rigging which started functioning in the mid of last month.