ISLAMABAD (Staff Report) – The polling for the first-ever mayor and three deputy mayors of the Federal Capital Islamabad is in progress.

According to a spokesman of the Election Commission the elections is being held through secret ballot.

The PML-N has fielded Sheikh Ansar Aziz as its candidate for the office of mayor against PTI’s Raja Khurram Nawaz.

For three slots of deputy mayors of Islamabad PML-N’s nominees are Chaudhry Riffat Javed, Syed Zeeshan Ali Naqvi and Muhammad Azam Khan. The PTI has nominated Fouzia Arshad, Raja Zulqarnain and Ali Nawaz Awan for the deputy mayoral slots.

Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation has 50 elected union council chairmen and 27 members on reserved seats.

The PML-N which is far ahead of its competitors with 32 union council chairmen, is expected to sweep the election of mayor. It is followed by PTI’s eighteen union council chairmen.