SHARJAH – Defending champion Islamabad United snatched victory from the jaws of the Peshawar Zalmi to secure their third victory in the 12th match of the second edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) here on Saturday at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah.

Misbah’s men achieved the target of 137-runs on the last ball of the last over.  Dwayne Smith scored 72 off 59 which included four huge sixes and six 4s.

Being sent into bat, Peshawar Zalmi batsmen could not resist the accurate bowling by Islamabad United pacers Mohammad Sami, Rumman Raees and Mohammad Irfan and spinner Shadab Khan.

No Zalmi batsman could reach 30-run mark and they were restricted to a low total of 136. The main scorers for Peshawar Zalmi were Eoin Morgan (28), Wahab Riaz (23) and captain Darren Sammy (20).

For Islamabad United, Sami captured three for 26 while Rumman and Shadab claimed two wickets each.

Islamabad United made three changes while Peshawar Zalmi were unchanged.

The match started at 09:00 PM Pakistan time, which corresponds to 08:00 PM Indian time, 05:00 GMT and 08:00 PM according to UAE time.

Where to watch: All matches will air on PTV Sports, Ten Sports and Geo Super. Similarly, cricket enthusiasts of the world can catch live action on MENA – OSN, Africa – Startimes, Bangladesh – Gazi TV, UK – A plus, channel 44, Prime TV, Geo TV, Caribbean – Flow TV, USA – A Plus, Afghanistan – Moby.


Islamabad United: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Shane Watson,  Mohammad Irfan, Samuel Badree, Mohammad Sami, Brad Haddin, Sam Billings, Hussain Talat, Amad Butt, Dwayne Smith, Zohaib Khan, Ben Duckett, Shadab Khan, Ruman Raees, Saeed Ajmal, Imran Khalid, Asif Ali, Syed Muzammil Shah, Steven Finn

Support staff: Owner: Leonine Global Sports, Director/Bowling Coach: Wasim Akram, Head Coach: Dean Jones (Australia), Assistant Coach: Tauseef Ahmed, Fielding Coach: Johan Botha (South Africa), Co-Manager: Rehan ul Haq, Co-Manager: Hasan Naeem

Peshawar Zalmi: Darren Sammy (captain), Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Eoin Morgan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Hafeez, Chris Jordan, Kamran Akmal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Asghar, Khushdil Shah, Junaid Khan, Imran Khan Jr, M. Irfan Khan, Marlon Samuels, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Samit Patel, Dawid Malan

Support staff: Owner: Javed Afridi (Haier Pakistan), CEO: Zeeshan Afzal, Manager: Abdul Rehman, President Peshawar Zalmi: Shahid Afridi, Head Coach/Director: Mohammad Akram, Batting Coach/Mentor: Younis Khan, Fielding Coach/Fitness Trainer: Grant Luden (South Africa).