ISLAMABAD – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chairman, Imran Khan, was officially nominated as the candidate of prime minister by the party’s parliamentary committee on Monday.

The nomination came as the party leaders including Asad Umar, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Chaudhry Sarwar, Shafqat Mehmood, Babar Awan, Azam Swati, Fawad Chaudhry and others assembled at a local hotel in the capital city to pose unflinching trust in the leadership of the cricketer-turned-politician.

After the nomination, Imran Khan thanked the party members and expressed that his 22-year-long struggle had finally paid off as the winds of change were being felt.

Here’s how a phone app and database helped PTI secure victory in General Elections

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has secured 116 seats in the National Assembly but due to the support of independents and Pakistan faction of Muttahida Qaumi Movement, it is in a comfortable position to form government at the federal level.

Moreover, the party has also vowed that it would form a government in Punjab owing to the inclusion of independent candidates who are being convinced by the party leader, Jahangir Khan Tareen.

Imran Khan’s party had clinched 123 seats in Pakistan’s most populous province, overthrowing the decade-long rule of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz.