CHAKWAL – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has won the by-election for Punjab Assembly’s constituency PP-23 Talagang by securing more than 72000 votes, according to unofficial and unconfirmed results.

PML-N candidate Malik Shehryar Awan emerged victorious in the by-polls held on Tuesday bagging 72071 votes, according to unofficial and unverified results from all 198 polling stations in the constituency.

He was followed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominee Sultan Surkhru, who managed to secure 51063 votes.

The polling for the vacant seat of Punjab assembly started at 8:00 am and continued till 5:00 pm without any formal break.

As many as eight candidates were in the run for the slot but a cut-throat contest was expected between Malik Sheharyar Awan of the PML-N and Sultan Surkhru of the PTI. The PML-Q, JI and PAT supported the PTI candidate whereas JUI-F backed PML-N.

The PP-23 falls in the National Assembly constituency of NA-61 where PML-Q has a large following. Pervez Elahi lost this seat (NA-61) in 2013 general election to the PML-N, but he secured 98,414 votes.

The ECP had set up 199 polling stations while the Rangers assisted the district administration in maintaining the law and order situation.

Both Imran Khan and Hamza Shahbaz had addressed the election meetings of their respective candidates. PTI stalwart Jahangir Tareen also actively participated in the rallies and tried to muster support for his party.

The seat fell vacant after the death of Malik Zahoor Anwar of the PML-N in February, who had won the 2013 general elections with a margin of more than 9,000 votes.