LAHORE – The Punjab Assembly will elect the provincial chief minister here on Sunday.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has fielded Hamza Shehbaz while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has introduced Sardar Usman Buzdar for Punjab chief minister’s slot.

The new Punjab CM will be elected at a session scheduled for 11am today. The Punjab Assembly Speaker Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi on Saturday accepted the nomination papers of both candidates.

Prime Minister Imran Khan said Usman Buzdar is fully justified for this post and stated Usman was aware of the concept of the ‘New Pakistan’. Buzdar is facing different allegations from his rivals.

On the other hand, PML-N claims to have required numbers for Punjab chief ministership. PTI dominates Punjab Assembly with 179 seats, whereas, PML-N has 164 seats in the house.