KARACHI (Web Desk) – Speaker Sindh Assembly Agha Siraj Durrani has accepted resignations of four Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers, media reported on Wednesday.
Four PTI MPAs including Samar Ali Khan, Dr Seema Zia, Syed Hafizuddin and Khurram Sher Zaman had submitted their resignations to the assembly secretariat in September last year.
They followed in the footsteps of their 31 party members in the National Assembly and 29 in the Punjab Assembly who had also sent in their resignations after PTI chief Imran Khan asked them to quit in protest against alleged rigging by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif s party Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PMLN) in 2013 general elections.
Talking to media in Karachi, Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani announced that he has accepted resignations of four PTI MPs. On the other hand, PTI leader Dr Arif Alvi welcomed the decision and demanded that resignations of PTI lawmakers should be accepted in Punjab and National Assembly as well.
The resignations do not affect the stability of the government which enjoys a majority with ruling PML-N having 190 members in a House of 342. Imran Khan s PTI is the third largest party in the National Assembly.