ISLAMABAD – On Monday the Supreme Court of Pakistan dismissed the review petition filed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leader Usman Dar seeking disqualification of defence minister Khawaja Asif.

A three-member bench including Chief Justice of Pakistan Mr. Justice Mian Saqib Nisar upheld the decision given by the Supreme Court in which it turned down the petition filed by Usman Dar.

The election tribunal had earlier given a decision in favour of PML-N’s Khawaja Asif regarding electoral irregularities, but Usman Dar challenged the decision in Supreme Court urging an inquiry into rigging allegations.

The apex court in November last year dismissed the petition of PTI’s Sialkot leader Usman Dar who was otherwise expecting something different.

Defiant Usman filed a review appeal to de-seat defence minister Khawaja Asif, but the apex court shot down the review petition as well endorsing Asif’s legit election as a legislator.

Chief Justice of Pakistan Mr. Justice Mian Saqib Nisar while dismissing the review petition remarked that there was no tangible grounds to support the review petition filed by PTI’s Usman Dar.

Khawaja Asif in his quintessential style took to Twitter and termed Imran Khan ‘railu katta’.

PML-N stalwart Khawaja Asif contested general elections 2013 through NA-110 and bagged 92,848 votes defeating Usman Dar who managed to secure 71,573 votes.

NA-110 was among the four constituencies for which PTI supremo Imran Khan demanded fingerprint verification, the other three being NA-122 Lahore, NA-125 Lahore & NA-154 Lodharan.

After a protracted legal tussle, re-elections were held on NA-122 and NA-154 after which PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq and PTI’s Jahangir Tareen made their way to the National Assembly.

Ayyaz Sadiq had in 2013 elections outshined PTI’s chairman Imran Khan and in re-elections, had defeated Aleem Khan.