ISLAMABAD – The Supreme Court is set to hear a review petition against the acquittal of Prime Minister Imran Khan in a disqualification case today.

The review petition was filed by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader Hanif Abbasi, who is serving his term following conviction in a drug case, against the rejection of his petition for disqualification of Imran Khan.

Imran Khan narrowly escapes disqualification, Jahangir Tareen shown the door

Abbasi, in his petition, has asked the court to disqualify the prime minister over not disclosing his assets and ownership of overseas firms. He said that the matter holds much significance since Khan has become the prime minister.

He has also demanded the formation of a full-bench for the case.

Earlier, Abbasi filed a petition against Imran Khan and his close aide Jahangir Khan Tareen in 2016 seeking their disqualification on declaring their assets.

In December 2017, chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Imran Khan narrowly escaped disqualification while his close confidante Jahangir Tareen was disqualified in a verdict announced by the Supreme Court.

In the verdict announced by Justice Saqib Nisar, it was categorically observed that Imran Khan was qualified enough to be a lawmaker, to the pleasure of PTI members who had assembled inside courtroom No. 1.

Chief Justice Mian Saqib Nisar said that Khan was not liable to declare his offshore firm Niazi Services Ltd in his 2013 nomination papers as he was not a shareholder, adding that he submitted all the information asked of him.

“Imran Khan is neither director nor shareholder of the offshore company. He was not required to show his off-shore company accounts,” the court added.

Jahangir Tareen’s Disqualification
The apex court disqualified the PTI Secretary General Jahangir Tareen for life on multiple charges in its verdict.

The verdict was handed down by a three-member bench headed by Chief Justice Mian Saqib Nisar, comprising Justice Faisal Arab and Umar Ata Bandial on petitions filed by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Hanif Abbasi against PTI bigwigs.