LAHORE – Sardar Usman Buzdar sworn in as 20th chief minister of Punjab at a ceremony held at Governor House in Lahore on Monday.

Acting Governor Punjab and Speaker Assembly Pervez Elahi administered the oath-taking ceremony.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) nominee Sardar Usman Buzdar was elected for the slot of Punjab chief minister on Sunday with 186 votes in the house of 371, while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’ (PML-N) candidate Hamza Shehbaz stood second with 159 votes for the province’s most coveted post.

Speaker Punjab Assembly Chaudhry Parvez Elahi announced Buzdar’s victory.

PTI dominates Punjab Assembly with 179 seats, whereas PML-N has 164 seats in the house.

Prime Minister Imran Khan earlier reposed his confidence in Buzdar for the post of CM Punjab via a video message. Explaining his decision, the PTI chief said that Buzdar hailed from the most impoverished area of Punjab and he had decided on him as the party’s candidate after due diligence.