KARACHI – Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Saeed Ghani has emerged victorious in PS-114 Karachi by-polls, by bagging 23,840 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results from all 92 polling stations suggested.

The party supporters resorted to celebrations and congratulations poured in as the unofficial results were announced.

Ghani was followed by Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s Kamran Tessori, who secured 18,106 votes.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Ali Akbar Gujjar stood third in the run with 5,353 votes to his credit, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Najeeb Haroon bagged 5,098 votes.

For the first time, Result Management System and Result Transmission System were introduced as a pilot project in PS-114 by-polls for efficient result-making.

Apart from the police, around 2,000 Rangers personnel had been deployed in and around the polling stations to ensure the voting process went smoothly.

Earlier on Sunday, voting for by-election in the Sindh Assembly constituency PS-114 has ended amid allegations of rigging and scattered incidents of chaos in different polling stations.

The polling began at 8am without any delay. All polling stations in the constituency have been declared sensitive.

The polling process was suspended for half an hour at Chanesar Goth polling station after clashes erupted between the activists of Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P).

The polling was resumed after authorities intervened in the matter and additional Rangers contingent was called in. The activists chanted slogans against each other. Acting swiftly, Rangers personnel intervened in the matter and arrested 11 activists causing disruption in the polling process.

However, no major incident of violence was reported in first three hours.

At least 21 candidates are contesting the by-poll including Pakistan Peoples Party’s Senator Saeed Ghani, Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan’s Kamran Tesori, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Engineer Najeeb Haroon, Jamaat-i-Islami’s Zahoor Ahmed Jadoon and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Ali Akbar Gujjar.