GUJRANWALA (Staff Report) – Vote count got underway in Gujranwala by-election for Punjab Assembly constituency, PP-97 as polling ended Sunday.

The voting process began at 8am and continued till 5pm.

As many as 19 polling stations have been declared sensitive and six others highly sensitive.

The voting process will begin at 8am today (Sunday) and will continue till 5pm.

In a notification issued here, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) annulled the election of MPA Muhammad Ashraf Warraich and ordered re-voting on the 33 polling stations.

An election tribunal (ET) headed by Justice Kazim Malik ordered re-polling on 33 polling stations of PP-97 Gujranwala within 60 days.

The ET ruling came in response to a petition filed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Nasir Cheema. The petitioner was of view that that PML-N’s candidate Warraich’s win was orchestrated.

Today’s one-on-one contest is expected to remain close between PML-N’s Ashraf Warraich and PTI’s Nasir Cheema.

It should be mentioned here that polling stations-100 and 101 have been changed for unknown reasons.