LONDON – India lost to England by nine runs in the Women’s World Cup 2017 at Lord’s Cricket on Sunday. With this win, England bagged their fourth World Cup title.

Set a winning target of 229, India fell short as England triumphed with Anya Shrubsole taking 6-46.

For India, Punam Raut was the top-scorer with 86 off 115 balls.

Anya Shrubsole was the chief destructor for England as she bagged six wickets in 9.4 overs for 46 runs.

Batting first, England were set 288-7 with the help of Natalie Sciver (51 off 68) and Sarah Taylor (45 off 62) in their stipulated 50 overs.

Jhulan Goswami bagged three wickets for India in her 10 overs, giving away only 23 runs with three maidens to her name.

Prize Money

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that the winning team will bag a handy prize money of USD 660,000.  The runner-up will win USD 330,000 and the losing semifinalists will bag USD 165,000 each. However, the teams which will leave the tournament after the group stage will get USD 30,000 each. Noticeably, each win in the group stage will coincide with a USD 20,000 in the bag for the winning team.

Indian skipper Mithali Raj is the first captain (men or women) to lead India to an ODI World Cup final twice – 2005 and 2017. Indian and England have a 1-1 head-to-head at Lord’s. India beat England by five wickets in the last completed game between the sides in 2012. The ODI in 2014 was abandoned.