NEW YORK – Shahid Kapoor and Alia Bhatt on Saturday were declared best actors at the 18th edition of the IIFA Awards 2017 for their remarkable work in Udta Punjab.

The actors became emotional after they won the award for a film which made its way to the big screen after fighting the censor board and let mainstream performers like them take up something risky, Hindustan Times reported.

Katrina Kaif gave away the award to Shahid, while Varun Dhawan announced Alia as the Best Actor – Female at the event, held at the Metlife Stadium.

The Best Picture honour went to Neerja, based on the real life story of Neerja Bhanot, an air hostess who lost her life while trying to save others on a hijacked flight at Karachi.

Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury walked away with the Best Direction award for Pink, a hard-hitting drama which put forth the message that when a woman says no, it means no.

Anupam Kher won the award for Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male) for his performance in M.S. Dhoni.

Diljit Dosanjh clinched the Best Debut (Male) award for his performance in Udta Punjab while the Best Debutant (Female) award was won by Disha Patani for the movie M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story.

Amitabh Bhattacharya won the Best Lyricist award for Channa Mere Ya from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

Amit Mishra bagged Best Playback Singer (Male) award for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil while Kanika Kapoor Tulsi Kumar jointly won the Best Playback Singer (Female) award for Udta Punjab and Airlift respectively.

The award for Best Music Direction went to Pritam while Varun Dhawan won the award for Best Actor In Comic Role.

Tapsee Pannu was named IIFA Woman Of The Year.