KARACHI – All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS) Executive Committee on Thursday held the Annual General Council Meeting in Karachi.

The General Council elected executive committee for 2017-18 and chalked out strategies and actions for the problems of the newspaper industry.

The Annual General Council under the Chairmanship of Sarmad Ali, President, unanimously approved the report of the Executive Committee for the preceding year as well as the Annual Accounts of the Society.

The committee has elected Sarmad Ali as President, Kazi Asad Abid as Senior Vice President, Mehtab Khan as Vice President, Umer Mujib Shami as Secretary General, S.M. Munir Jilani as Joint Secretary and Waseem Ahmed as Finance Secretary of the Society for the year 2017-18.

The General Council attended by 172 members from across the country, formed an Election Commission headed by Syed Sajjad Bokhari, Nasir Daad Baloch and Usman Arab Saati as members. The Election Commission conducted the election of the Executive Committee for the year 2017-18.

The following were elected unopposed:

Rawalpindi/Islamabad Daily Seats: Daily Ausaf, Islamabad and Daily Sahafat, Islamabad.

Balochistan Daily Seats: Daily Awam, Quetta and Daily Mashriq, Quetta.

Punjab (excluding Lahore/Rwp/Ibd.): Daily Aftab Multan, Daily Business Report Faisalabad and Daily Paigham, Faisalabad.

Lahore Daily Seats: Daily Dunya, Daily Jang, Daily Khabrain, Daily Nawa-i-Waqt, Daily Pakistan and Daily Tijarat.

Periodicals Seats: Monthly Kiran Digest Karachi, Monthly Naey Ufaq Karachi, Monthly Naya Rukh Karachi and Monthly Roohani Digest, Karachi.

News & News Comments Periodical (Punjab / KPK): Weekly Azm / Daily Taaqat, Lahore.

News & News Comments Periodical (Sindh / Balochistan): Fortnightly Ibrat Magazine, Hyderabad.

The Election Commission conducted the election to the Executive Committee for the year 2017-18. The following were elected by secret ballot:

Karachi Daily Seats: Daily Aghaz, Daily Business Recorder, Daily Dawn, Daily Deyanat, Daily Din and Daily Qaumi Akhbar.

Khyber Pakhtoon Khwa Daily Seats: Daily Mashriq and Daily Wahdat.

Sindh (Excluding Karachi) Dailies: Daily Kaleem, Sukkur and Daily Kawish, Hyderabad.

General Seats (Metropolitan Dailies): Daily City 42, Lahore and Daily Pakistan Observer, Islamabad.

General Seats (Regional Dailies): Daily Sayadat, Bahawalpur and Daily Tijarati Rahbar, Faisalabad

News & News Comments Periodicals (General): Monthly Cricketer, Karachi

The Council elected Usman Arab Saati, Daily Vatan Gujrati as member emeritus in recognition of his services for the newspaper industry. The President – elect nominated Fauzia Shaheen, Monthly Dastak, Karachi on woman – publishers seat.