ISLAMABAD – Imran Khan, who was earlier heading Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, has been elected chairman of the party with a huge margin again, while Shah Mahmood Qureshi has become vice chairman.

Two panels, including Imran Khan led Insaf Panel and Naik Muhammad led Ehtisab Panel, took part in the intra-party elections.

Khan bagged 189,055 votes in the elections against his rival Naik Muhammad Khan, whose panel received only 41,647 votes. Around 26,255 votes were rejected during the process.

Furthermore, Arif Alvi from Insaf Panel has been elected for PTI Sindh president, while Yar Muhammad Rind has become president of PTI Balochistan.

Similarly, Jahangir Tareen has been elected as PTI secretary general and Aleem Khan president of Central Punjab, while Ali Amin Gandapur has become president of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The election which started Friday midnight and concluded Sunday midnight saw a turnover of 256,957.

Azam Khan Sawati administered the elections as chief election commissioner. The results have been submitted to the Election Commission of Pakistan.