OKARA (Staff Report) – Independent candidate Riazul Haq Juj has been declared as winner in unofficial result of NA-144 Okara-II by-poll after a daylong polling on Sunday.

According to unofficial results Juj has received 83240 votes while PML-N candidate Ali Arif has bagged 41050 votes in total 210 polling stations. Another independent runner earned 11563 votes.

PTI contestant Ashraf Sohna remained at fourth position with 7180 votes. The ECP confiscated his surety bond.

As many as five candidates have been contesting the by-poll which included Ali Arif Chaudhry of PML-N, Muhammad Ashraf Khan Sohna of PTI and Sajjad-ul-Hasan. Independent candidates Riazul Haq Juj and Mehr Abdul Sattar are also runs.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) established as many as  210 polling stations for the daylong polling.

The National Assembly seat went vacant when PML-N MNA Arif Chaudhry was disqualified by an election tribunal.