ISLAMABAD (Web Desk) – Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif Tuesday said that unwavering resolve of the nation and countless and continued sacrifices by Security Forces and Law Enforcement Agencies have resulted in significant and visible improvement in security situation across the country.

He was chairing a meeting on the National Action Plan that agreed on making collective efforts aimed at the national level and “specific efforts” at the provincial level to consolidate gains made to rid the country of threat of extremism and terrorism.

The meeting held here at the PM House also agreed to move ahead in certain areas where progress has been unsatisfactory.

“It was stressed by the NSA that role of Provincial Governments in implementation of NAP was crucial and it was imperative for all of us work with missionary zeal,” a statement issued by the PM House at the end of the meeting said.

The meeting agreed on the future course of action in terms of milestones and timelines for different components of NAP.

The meeting acknowledged and praised the continued sacrifices by the security forces, personnel of Law Enforcement Agencies and Civilian Armed Forces.

Lt Gen Nasir Khan Janjua, NSA and Convener of Implementation Committee of NAP briefed the meeting on the implementation status of NAP and the challenges faced at this stage of implementation.

The participants of the meeting lauded the work of federal and provincial intelligence agencies which have enabled the Security forces and Law Enforcement Agencies to foil many attempts of terrorists and vowed to provide them an enabling atmosphere to work within the ambit of law.


The meeting agreed on the need of seamless coordination between Federal and Provincial Governments as well as all LEAs for achieving desired results.

It was also agreed to further improve the collection, collation, analysis and use of intelligence input for defeating the designs of enemies.

The meeting was attended by Governor Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Iqbal Zafar Jhagra; Chief Minister Punjab, Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif; CM Sindh, Syed Murad
Ali Shah; CM Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pervez Khattak; CM Balochistan, Mir Sana Ullah Khan Zehri; CM Gilgit Baltistan, Hafiz Hafeez ur Rehman.