ISLAMABAD (Staff Report) – The Pakistan Muslim League (N) has clinched 18 seats while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) secured nine in election against reserved seats of Metropolitan Corporation Islamabad held on Saturday.

The newly elected chairmen from 50 union councils of Islamabad exercised their right of vote to elect members against reserved seats.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) organized Local Government Elections on 27 reserved seats for Women, Peasants/Workers, Technocrat, Youth and Non-Muslims in Metropolitan Corporation of Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT).

In this second phase of Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation LG elections, there were 17 seats of women of which PML-N got 11 seats and PTI achieved six seats while on three peasants/workers seats, PML-N obtained 2 seats and PTI one.

As per unofficial results, PML-N got two seats and PTI one among three youth seats. Similarly on three minorities’ seats, PML-N bagged two seats and PTI one while the only technocrat seat was won by PML-N.

Polling was held at polling station of IMCB,F-8/4 and time duration was fixed from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm.

According to ECP’s source, 12 candidates of PML-N for women seats, nine PTI and four independents were in field to contest election while for peasant seats,two candidates of PML-N, three PTI and five Independent contested.

PML-N fielded three candidates, PTI two and eight Independent candidates were in the field for Youth seats. Two candidates of PML-N, three PTI and six independent contested for the seats of non-Muslim while for technocrat each party and independent had single candidate.

The ECP appointed Chaudhry Aleem Shahab as District Returning Officer and Farasat Ali Khan as Returning officer for the elections on reserved seats.