ISLAMABAD – On Monday Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali gave permission to put the names of alleged cricketers involved in PSL spot-fixing on Exit Control List (ECL).

The interior ministry placed the names of suspended players including Sharjeel Khan, Shahzeb Hassan, Mohammad Irfan, Khalid Latif and Nasir Jamshed on the ECL.

The decision was taken in a meeting headed by the Interior Minister. Officials of Federal Investigation Agency and others attended the meeting.

The Interior Minister reiterated that corrupt players will be dealt with iron hands, adding that websites those promote gambling on cricket should be shut.

The FIA on Sunday asked the interior ministry to put the names of the five players, suspended for alleged involvement in spot-fixing during Pakistan Super League 2017 on the Exit Control List (ECL).

“The agency has written a letter to Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar in which it has requested that the names of Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan, Shahzaib Hasan and Nasir Jamshed be included on the ECL”, Geo News reported while quoting sources.

Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan and Shahzaib Hasan have been provisionally suspended from all forms of cricket for violating the Pakistan Cricket Board’s anti-corruption code.

Sharjeel and Latif, who were suspended during the opening week of the PSL for suspected links with an international fixing syndicate, face a minimum five years’ ban.

Batsman Shahzaib, who was charged and suspended on Friday, also faces a minimum five years’ ban. Fast bowler Mohammad Irfan faces a minimum six months’ ban.

Nasir Jamshed, who resides in the UK, was suspended during PSL after the PCB said it had ‘concrete evidence’ against the former opener.

He was also arrested along with another suspect by Britain’s National Crime Agency last month as part of investigations but later released on bail.