DHAKA -Pakistan produced an impressive performance to outclass Bangladesh 7-0 in their opening campaign at the 10th edition of the men’ Asia Cup hockey tournament here on Wednesday.

Abu Mahmood scored hat-trick in the 18th, 41st and 50th minute which helped Pakistan seal their opening match of the tournament.

Scorers: Abubakr Mahmood: 3 (18′,41′, 50′)  Ammad Shakeel Butt: 2 (33′, 47′) Arslan Qadir: 2 (33′, 60′)
Hero Man of Match: M.Rizwan Senior (12,500 Takas)

Pakistan meet Japan on October 13 while Bangladesh will take on India. Earlier, India defeated Japan by 5-1.

The eight-team tournament will serve as a platform for 2018 World Cup as the winner will directly qualify for the marquee event, which will be held from November 24 in India.

Pakistan played a practice match against China on Monday and defeated them by 3-2. This was the only practice match for the Green-shirts before the Asia Cup.

This will be the fifth meeting between Pakistan and Bangladesh in Asia Cup. Pakistan have won all the four previous encounters without conceding a goal. However, when Dhaka last staged the Asia Cup in 1985, Bangladesh gave Pakistan a good run for their money, losing only by 0-1.

Pakistan, at that time, were the undisputed kings of hockey holding all the titles: Olympic, World Cup, Asian Games and Asia Cup.

Matches Timings

The Hero Hockey Asia Cup 2017 live broadcast of the day match will start at 3:00pm PST and 5.00pm.

Hero Hockey Asia Cup 2017 Live Telecast TV Channels/Live Streaming

Pakistan: PTV; Live streaming:PTV Sports Live

India: TV: Star Sports 2/HD; Live streaming: Hotstar

Malaysia: TV: Astro Arena/HD ; Live streaming: Astro Go

Japan: TV: TV Tokyo

Pakistan Team:

Mazhar Abbas and Amjad Ali (goal keepers), Muhammad Irfan (captain), Atif Mushtaq, Mubashar Ali, Ammad Shakeel Butt, Abu Bakar Mahmood, Tasawwar Abbas, Rashid Mahmood, Rizwan Jr, Arslan Qadir, Azfar Yaqoob, Umar Bhutta, Rizwan Sr (Vice Captain), Ali Shan, Muhammad Atiq, Waqas Akbar and Ajaz Ahmad. The standbys comprise Junaid Kamal, Ali Hassan Faraz, Irfan Jr, Shan Irshad, Saleem Nazim, Qamar Bukhari, Khizar Akhtar, Shajeeh Ahmed and Hassan Anwar.

Tournament Schedule: