LAHORE/KUANTAN – Pakistan on Saturday defeated Malaysia and qualified for the final of Asian Hockey Champions Trophy, where the green shirts will face their traditional rivals India on Sunday for the championship title.

The defending champion beat Malaysia on a penalty shootout after their semi final match was tied with the scoreline 1-1 at full time.

Live Score: Pakistan 3, Malaysia 2

The match begins at 05:30 pm on Pakistan Standard-Times (PST) and 08:30 pm on Malaysian times.

India beat Korea by 5-4 also in the shootout after both the teams were locked 2-2 at the end of regulation time.

India won the inaugural 2011 edition of the Champions Trophy, while Pakistan have been two-time champion.

It is presumed that Sunday’s final will be another epic battle between the two arch rivals if both teams succeed in their respective encounters in semi-finals.

Malaysian team have been enjoying a terrific run in the tournament with a 4-2 victory over Pakistan in the opening match, defeated China 5-1 and Japan 7-2 until India slammed the brakes on the host following a 2-1 win.

The defending champion, Pakistan thrashed Korea 1-0, beat Japan 4-3 and outclassed China by 4-0.

Read: Pakistan beat China 4:0 to reach semi-finals

You can download the full schedule of the tournament here

Six teams from Pakistan, India, Malaysia, South Korea, China and Japan are taking part in the event.

Pakistan has won the champions trophy more than any other participating team. The green team defeated its traditional rival India by 5-4 in the final of 2012.

Pakistan squad:

Goalkeepers: Imran Butt and Amjad Ali.

Defenders: Aleem Bilal, Mohammad Irfan (captain), Ammad Shakeel Butt.

Midfielders: Rashid Mahmood, Tasawar Abbas, Nawaz Ashfaq, Fareed Ahmad, Toseeq Arshad, Mohammad Rizwan Junior.

Forwards: Mohammad Irfan junior, Umar Bhutta, Arslan Qadir, Ali Shan, Ejaz Ahmad, Mohammad Rizwan senior, Abdul Haseem Khan.