CARDIFF – Mahmudullah and Shakib Al Hasan’s stunning partnership gave Bangladesh a five-wicket victory over New Zealand in the ICC Champions Trophy at the Sophia Gardens in Cardiff on Friday.

Mahmudullah scored an unbeaten 102 dotted with eight fours and two sixes while Shakib made 114 that had 11 fours and one maximum. After Tim Southee depleted the Bangladesh top order, taking three wickets in the early overs, Mahmudullah and Shakib stitched a stunning 200 plus partnership to give their team a brilliant win. No one could have imagined Bangladesh winning after being 33/4!

Earlier, Bangladesh rode on a brilliant bowling display from Mosaddekk Hossain (3/13) and Taskin Ahmed (2/43) to restrict New Zealand to 265 for 8 in their crucial ICC Champions Trophy 2017 clash at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff on Friday.

For New Zealand, captain Kane Williamson scored 57 off 69 balls, while the experienced Ross Taylor chipped in with a 82-ball 63 runs knock. The duo stitched 83 runs for the third wicket.

New Zealand skipper KS Williamson won the toss and decided to bat first in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 match.

Match Timings

The match started start at 02.30 pm PST (Pakistan Standard Time).

Where to watch

Pakistan: PTV Sports, Ten Sports, Star Sports India

New Zealand: SkySports, Sky Sports NZ United Kingdom: ITV 1 & 4, SkySports

Bangladesh: GTV, Star Sports India

New Zealand’s first game against Australia was washed out due to rain. They lost their next game to England by 87 runs.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh started their Champions Trophy 2017 campaign on a losing note as they were humbled by the hosts by eight wickets.

Bangladesh’s second match against Australia was washed out due to rain. Bangladesh and New Zealand have a point each on the table.

New Zealand Squad

KS Williamson*, CJ Anderson, TA Boult, NT Broom, C de Grandhomme, MJ Guptill, TWM Latham, MJ McClenaghan, AF Milne, JDS Neesham, JS Patel, L Ronchi†, MJ Santner, TG Southee, LRPL Taylor.

Bangladesh Squad

Mashrafe Mortaza*, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mosaddek Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim†, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Sunzamul Islam, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed.