BIRMINGHAM – Pakistan won their first Champions Trophy 2017 warm-up game against Bangladesh at Edgbaston on Saturday.

From Bangladesh side, Tamim Iqbal remained prominent with 102 runs.

In chase of Bangladesh’s 341 runs, Shoaib Malik (72 runs) and Fahim Ashraf (64 runs) helped Pakistan secure the victory.

Pakistan will play their second warm-up game against Australia on Monday. The Pakistani captain has said that his side wishes to perform their best against all sides including India.

“It is our mission to bring happiness to the country by winning the tournament,” he added.

The started at 3:30pm (PST) while 3:00pm on (IST) and 09.30 (GMT). The match will be broadcast on PTV in Pakistan and on GTV in Bangladesh.

The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, also called mini World Cup, is scheduled to start from June 1 in the United Kingdom and the top eight ODI teams — India, Australia, South Africa, England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, New Zealand — will be contesting in the race to win the title.

Team India will look to defend the title they won in 2013 under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni after defeating England by five runs on June 23.

The final of the eighth edition of the tournament will be played on June 18. Group A consist of Australia, New Zealand, Bangladesh and England while Group B has India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

Pakistan will play their second warm-up game against Australia on Monday.

Pakistan (squad): Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fahim Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik and Wahab Riaz.

Bangladesh (squad): Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Sunzamul Islam, Tamim Iqbal and Taskin Ahmed.