BIRMINGHAM – Pakistan defeated South Africa by 19 runs via Duckworth-Lewis method at the Edgbaston on Wednesday.

Sent in to bowl first, Pakistan restricted South Africa to 220 runs for eight wickets in Group B day/night One-day International.

Pacer Hasan Ali took 2-34, Junaid Khan picked up 2-53 and the spin duo of Imad Wasim (2-20) and Mohammad Hafeez (1-51) thwarted South Africa’s highly-rated batting line-up restricting them to a modest 219-3. David Miller with a sedate 75 from 104 balls was the only South African batsman to put up a real fight.

In reply, Pakistan were given a flying start by debutant opener Fakhar Zaman who hit six fours in his 23-ball knock before Mohammad Hafeez (26* off 53 balls), Babar Azam (31* from 51) balls and Shoaib Malik (16* off 14) took the side to 119-3 in 27 break. Then there was rain. Play was stopped and the umpires waited for almost two hours before deciding that resumption wasn’t possible. The par score at that stage was 100 and Pakistan were declared winners. If the Pakistanis go on to beat Sri Lanka in their last Pool B game in Cardiff on June 12, they could be in the last four.

Match Timings

The match will begin at 5:30pm (PST), 5:00pm (IST), 12.30 (GMT) and 13:30pm (local).

Where to watch

Pakistan: PTV Sports, Ten Sports, Star Sports India

South Africa: Super Sports

India: DD National (Only Indian matches), Star Sports 1, Star Sports HD1, Star Sports 2, Star Sports HD2, Star Sports 3, Star Sports HD3

The Proteas are well placed at the moment, having won their first game against Sri Lanka by 96 runs, but Pakistan will have their work cut out as it is a must-win match for the former World Champions. A loss against South Africa would mean that Pakistan are virtually out of the tournament. A win for South Africa will take them closer to a spot in the semi-finals.

The green shirts had defeated South Africa in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 fixture. Wahab Riaz will no longer be part of the tournament after suffering an ankle injury and he will be replaced by Junaid Khan whereas Sarfraz Ahmed confirmed Ahmed Shehzad will be replaced by Fakhar Zaman.

Pakistan (squad): Sarfraz Ahmed (captain),  Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fahim Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik.

South Africa (squad): AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius and Kagiso Rabada.