ICC announces schedule for Under-19 World Cup 2018

  • Pakistan will face Afghanistan in the first Group D match
  • 16 teams, divided in four groups, participating in the grand tournament

DUBAI – The International Cricket Council (ICC) Thursday announced the schedule for the upcoming Under-19 World Cup, which will held from January 13 to February 3, 2018 in New Zealand.

Article continues after the advertisement

Sixteen teams will participate in the grand tournament.

West Indies – the last installment’s champions – will open the tournament in a day-night fixture against hosts New Zealand on January 13.

Pakistan will face Afghanistan in the first Group D match on the opening day of the tournament.

The top two sides from each of the four groups will go onto the Super League, whereas the remaining teams will participate in the plate championship.

ICC reveals latest Test player rankings

The 16 teams playing the tournament have been divided into four groups, with the breakup as follows:

Group A

New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa, Kenya

Group B

India, Australia, Zimbabwe, Papua, New Guinea

Group C

England, Bangladesh, Canada, Namibia

Group D

Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Ireland