BANGKOK – The India women’s cricket team outshined Pakistan by 17 runs in the final of the Women’s T20 Asia Cup, successfully defending their title in Bangkok on Sunday.

Batting first, India set a target of 121/5 for the green shirts. Mithali Raj’s unbeaten 73 set the team up for victory.

With Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht and Preeti Bose on the offence from the beginning of India’s bowling overs, the game was tipped in India’s favour from the beginning.

For Pakistan, Anam Amin claimed two wickets while Sana Mir and Sadia Yousuf took one each.

Pakistan ended the second inning with 104 for the loss of six wickets, 17 runs short of the target.

Captain Bismah Maroof’s 25 runs were the highest individual score on the Pakistani side.

Opener Javeria Khan scored 22 while Nida Dar and Sana Mir returned to the pavilion with 12 runs not out each.

Pakistan qualified for the final after defeating Thailand by five wickets on Saturday.