DUBAI (Staff Report) – Leo Lions defeated Capricorn Commanders by 26 runs in the second game of the Masters Champions League (MCL) on Friday at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Leo Lion scored 156 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in 20 overs.

Johan Botha remained top scorer with unbeaten 42 runs knock. He smashed three boundaries and two sixes in his innings.

James Franklin made 31 while Brendon Taylor hit 24. Opener Hamish Marshall made 20 runs.

Capricorn’s Rory Kleinveldt and Jeetan Patel took two wickets each.

In reply, Capricorn commanders made 130 runs for the loss of 8 wickets 20 overs.

Opener Ashwell Prince remained top scorer with 34 runs while Andrew Symonds made 21.

Skipper Paul Collingwood scored 19 runs.

Leo Lions, Fidel Edwards bagged four while Scot Styris took two wickets.

Live score and streaming:

LIVE – Geo Super by GeoSuper

Match Review:

Former England cricketers Michael Vaughan and Paul Collingwood, along with all-rounders Andrew Symonds and Abdul Razzaq are the key players for the Commanders. The latter two are likely to start in their first match of the tournament, due to their ability to change the course of the game with both bat and ball.

Rory Kleinveldt has not received an NoC from the South Africa cricket board to take part in the MCL. However, he is likely to attempt to play in the inaugural edition of the tournament. It should be seen whether he will be included in the playing XI on Friday.

West Indies legend Brian Lara, former England pacerman Darren Gough, ex-South African opener Herschelle Gibbs and Zimbabwe’s former star bowler Heath Streak are the key men for Leo Lions.

All rounder Scott Styris is also in the squad and he is likely to make it to the playing XI against Capricorn Commanders. The opportunity to see Lara, Vaughan, Gough and others in action will be a treat for the lovers of the game.

Capricorn Commanders Squad:

Michael Vaughan, Paul Collingwood, Geraint Jones, Rikki Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Ben Laughlin (Australia), Ashwell Prince, Ryan McLaren, Rory Kleinveldt, Abdul Razzaq, Saleem Elahi, Chamara Silva, Upul Chandana, Jeetan Patel, Sunil Joshi, Rizwan Cheema

Leo Lions Squad:

Darren Gough, Simon Jones, Brian Lara, Fidel Edwards, Herschelle Gibbs, Robin Peterson, Johan Botha, Scott Styris, Hamish Marshall, James Franklin, Heath Streak, Brendan Taylor, Kyle Jarvis. Ramesh Powar, Neil Carter, Mohammad Tauqir.

Masters Champions League (MCL T20) 2016 schedule: