Pakistan names Maroof-led squad for New Zealand series

  • The series against New Zealand, which also comprises 4 T20Is, will be played in Sharjah

LAHORE – Pakistan’s new captain Bismah Maroof will lead the Pakistan 14-member ODI squad against New Zealand on October 31.

She takes over from Sana Mir, who was sacked in the aftermath of a highly publicised spat with the team management, but has been included to play the three-match series.

This will be Pakistan’s first assignment since a winless World Cup campaign in June and July. Upon returning home from England, Mir refused to “continue with the current setup” and followed that threat by skipping the training camp organised for the players ahead of the series against New Zealand.

The PCB then removed Mir from captaincy, while the women’s wing general manager Ayesha Ashar, believed to be the person Mir wanted out, was also sacked. With the selection committee also shown the door, this squad was picked by the junior selection committee, led by Basit Ali.

All-rounder Javeria Khan has been nominated vice-captain.

The series against New Zealand, which also comprises 4 T20Is, will be played in Sharjah. It is also the first – and potentially only – one with New Zealander Mark Coles as head coach of Pakistan. He was appointed on an interim basis specifically for this series, although the possibility of his getting a long-term deal remains.

Pakistan squad

Ayesha Zafar, Nahida Khan, Javeria Khan (vice-captain), Bismah Maroof (capt), Sidra Ameen, Iram Javed, Aliya Riaz, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Sana Mir, Diana Baig, Natalia Pervaiz, Aiman Anwer, Nashra Sandhu, Sadia Yousuf