IPOH (Staff Report) – India beat Pakistan in a pool match at the 25th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 at Azlan Shah Stadium, Ipoh, Malaysia.

Pakistan: 1

India: 5


Indian team finally notched up a convincing 5-1 victory over their arch-rivals Pakistan to jump to the second spot in the league standings.

SV Sunil scored a brace while Manpreet Singh, Talwinder Singh and Rupinder Pal Singh are the other scorer in India’s big victory. This is India’s third win of the tournament after defeating Japan and Canada while they suffered 1-5 loss at the hands of Australia.

Manpreet opened the scoring for India with a magnificent reverse hit to the right of the Pakistani goalkeeper. Pakistan levelled soon through Muhammad Irfan’s well struck penalty corner in the 7th minute. Sunil’s intelligent deflection in the 10th minute helped India regain their lead to 2-1 after the end of the first quarter. No goal was scored in the second quarter as India went into the half-time with 2-1 lead.

Sunil extended India’s lead to 3-1 with another deflection in the 41st minute. India piled misery on Pakistan in the last quarter with Talwinder and Rupinder scoring to make it 5-1 for India.

As many as seven teams -India, Pakistan, Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada and Japan- are participating in the iconic hockey tournament that takes place on annual basis in Malaysia.

Each team is scheduled to play six pool matches in the first round, which will be followed by final match between two top teams. Matches will also be held for 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th positions.

At this year’s tournament, Pakistan has so far played matches against Canada, New Zealand and Australia, winning only one game against Canada.

Pakistan’s two remaining matches will be played on April 13 (against Malaysia) at  Pakistan vs Malaysia – 5:35pm PST and April 15 (against Japan) at 1:05pm PST.

On the final day (April 16), two matches will be held for 5th and 6th (at 12:40pm PST) slots, and  3rd and 4th (at 3:05pm PST) places. Final game for first and second positions will be on the same day at 5:45pm PST.

Pakistan Squad: 

Muhammad Imran (C), Ali Shan, Rashid Mahmood, Waqas Sharif, Muhammad Azfar, Muhd Kashif, Ali Shakeep Butt, Ammad Dilbar, Hussain Rizwan Junior, Mashar Abbas, Muhammad Tauseeq, Fareed Ahmad, Syed Kashif, Imran Butt, Muhammad Irfan Rizwan Snr, Shafqat Rasool, Umar Bhutta

India Squad:

Sardar Singh (C), SV Sunil, Harjot Singh, Akash Anil Chikte, Rupinder Pal Singh, Jasjit Singh Kular, Kothajit Singh, Surender Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensana Singh, Manpreet Singh, S K Uthappa, Harjeet Singh, Talwinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah