SYDNEY – Australia completed its  clean sweep against Pakistan on the final day of third Test match at Sydney as it routed Pakistan by 220 runs.

In response to Australia’s target of 464, Pakistan’s batting line up hardly made it to 244 in 81 overs thus bagging another defeat.

WATCH Pakistan vs Australia 5th ODI LIVE

The hosts had won the opening day-night test in Brisbane by 39 runs and the second test in Melbourne by an innings and 18 runs.

Only Sarfaraz Ahmed from Pakistan managed to make a fifty. He remained not out on 72 runs.

Josh Hazlewood took 3 wickets while Nathan Lyon bagged two important wickets making it difficult for Pakistan to bag a face-saving draw. David Warner was declared ‘Man of the match’.

Meanwhile, at the presentation ceremony, Pakistan’s skipper Misbah Ul Haq lauded Azhar Ali and Asad Shafiq for their extraordinary performance. He maintained that Australia performed really well in the series.

‘It was a tough series for Pakistan’ Misbah said.

Pakistan lost important wickets like veteran batsman Younis Khan (13) and Azhar Ali (11) on the decisive fifth day.

The 39-year-old batting great Khan was caught in the deep off spinner Nathan Lyon for 13 to be 23 runs short of becoming the first Pakistan batsman to reach 10,000 Test runs. Younis has 9,977 runs in 115 Test matches.

Australia declared their second innings after scoring 241 runs thus setting a total target of 464 runs for Pakistan.

Earlier, Pakistan managed to set a total 310 in 110 overs in their first innings in response to Australia’s 538 runs in which Younis Khan remained not out on 175.

Australia declared its first innings at 538 for the loss of 8 wickets. Australia lead the series 2-0.

Pakistan made two changes with opener Sharjeel Khan making his Test debut in place of Sami Aslam and Imran Khan replacing fellow paceman Sohail Khan.

Austrian has included spinners Steve O’Keefe and Ashton Agar in a 13-man squad.

The match started at 04:00 am Pakistan time, which corresponds to 10:30 am Australian time, 11:00 GMT and 05:00 am according to Indian time.

Star Sports Select HD 2 will telecast live action for viewers in Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, while Channel Nine will broadcast in Australia, BT Sport in the UK and Willow Sports in the US.

Viewers in Pakistan and UAE can also watch the action on PTV Sports and Ten Sports.


Pakistan (from): Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Nawaz, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Asghar, Sohail Khan.

Australia (from): Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Hilton Cartwright, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Stephen O’Keefe, Matt Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade.