Pakistan vs World XI: PCB names 12-member team for 1st T20

  • Mohammad Amir unavailable following his first child’ birth in London
  • Shoaib Malik, Ahmed Shehzad part of the squad
  • South Africa’s Faf du Plessis leads the international side

LAHORE – The Pakistan Cricket Board has finalised the names of 12 players for the squad which will face the World XI in the first of the three T20 matches of the Independence Cup at Gaddafi Stadium today (Tuesday).

Fast bowler Mohammad Amir will miss out on the action as he is in London to celebrate the birth of his first child.

Independence Cup: All political slogans banned at Qaddafi Stadium

All-rounder Aamer Yamin, batsman Umar Amin and spinner Mohammad Nawaz will sit out during the first T20.

The 12-member squad features Sarfraz Ahmad (captain, wicketkeeper), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees, Usman Khan Shinwari and Sohail Khan.

One of the fast bowlers, Usman Khan Shinwari and Sohail Khan, will be selected in the playing XI depending on pitch conditions.

World XI: Faf du Plessis (captain), David Miller, Morne Morkel, Tim Paine, Thisara Perera, Imran Tahir, Darren Sammy, Hashim Amla, Grant Elliott, Samuel Badree, George Bailey, Tamim Iqbal, Paul Collingwood and Ben Cutting.

World XI T20 series: Pakistan unveils Independence Cup trophy in Lahore

The historic series will kick off at 7:30 pm with fans already started reaching the stadium amid tight security.

The World XI, led by South African skipper Faf du Plessis, reached Lahore on Monday morning, with West Indian spinner Samuel Badree joining the team earlier today and completing the stellar line-up of 14 players from seven Test-playing countries.