Pakistan’s Sarfraz Ahmed becomes captain of ICC Team of Champions 2017

  • Pakistan thrashed India by 180 runs at London’s Oval ground on Sunday

DUBAI – The International Cricket Council has announced the Team of Champions for year 2017, making Sarfraz Ahmed the captain.

Another three Pakistani players – fast bowlers Hassan Ali and Junaid Khan, and opening batsman Fakhar Zaman – have also made it to the list of ICC Team of Champions.

The squad also includes three Indians – Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar – three Englishmen – Joe Root, Ben Stokes, and Adil Rashid – and one Bangladeshi, with Kane Williamson of New Zealand as the 12th man.

The announcement comes a day after Pakistan outplayed India in the high octane final match of Champions Trophy at Oval, London, on Sunday.

The team lineup, in batting order, includes:

  • Shikhar Dhawan (India) (338 runs)

  • Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan) (252 runs)

  • Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) (293 runs)

  • Virat Kohli (India) (258 runs)

  • Joe Root (England) (258 runs)

  • Ben Stokes (England) (184 runs and three wickets)

  • Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (captain) (wicketkeeper) (76 runs and nine dismissals)

  • Adil Rashid (England) (seven wickets)

  • Junaid Khan (Pakistan) (eight wickets)

  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India) (seven wickets)

  • Hassan Ali (Pakistan) (13 wickets)

  • Kane Williamson (New Zealand) (12th) (244 runs)