PCB announces 16-member squad for England, Ireland tour

  • Fawad Alam not included in the national squad

LAHORE – Sixteen member squad for Pakistan’s tour of England and Ireland has been finalized on Sunday.

Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq announced the squad members at a press conference in Pakistan Cricket Board headquarter.

9 batsman will bear the burden of difficult batting condition of England which include Azhar Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Fakar Zaman, Sami Aslam have been included in the squad as opening batsmen.

Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Saad Ali, Usman Salah have been added as middle order batsmen.

Faheem Ashraf finds his place as an all-rounder in the squad while Shadab Khan has been included as a spinner.

Fawad Alam once again was unable to find his place in the national squad.

The selection comes after players took part in a five-day fitness camp in Gaddafi stadium, overseen by coach Mickey Arthur, along with Inzamam and PCB chairman Najam Sethi.

Pakistan cricket team’s fitness tests begin at National Cricket Academy

The squad is expected to depart at the end of April.

Pakistan will begin their tour with a four-day warm-up match against county side Kent before taking on Ireland on April 11 in a one-off test match, the first-ever played by the Irish.

Pakistan will then return to England for a two-test series on may 24 and June 1, followed by two twenty20 internationals with Scotland.

The final  Pakistan squad for tour of England and Ireland include Sarfaraz Ahmed(c), Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Inam-Ul-Haq, Asad Shafiq, Usman Salah, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Amir, Muhammad Abbas, Saad Ali, Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf and Rahat Ali.